Membership in the  ESRS is open to all persons in- and outside Europe who are interested in the study of rural issues related to agriculture and fishery, food systems, rural development and change, rurality and cultural heritage, equality and inequality in rural society, nature and environmental care, and many more.  As a community, ESRS organises a biannual conference, publishes the academic journal Sociologia Ruralis, and offers additional activities to its members, such as PhD schools, research and study groups, and other events. Members can participate in all ESRS events and have a free online subscription to Sociologia Ruralis. Moreover, members enjoy a substantial reduction of the conference fee.

From January 2022 onwards, membership of ESRS is always for two years on a rolling basis, at the rate of 90Euro for ordinary members, and 50Euro for students and PhD researchers. To become a member, follow this link, which directs you to the website of Wiley.

We are aware of the huge economic differences between different European countries. Therefore, we offer members of selected countries the opportunity of a reduced membership fee (see table below). After registering via Wiley, and in case you want part of the membership fee to be refunded, contact our treasurer Pekka Salmi ( and provide the following information: Your name, Name of the account holder, Account number (IBAN), Name of bank, your current place of residence, and whether you are an ordinary member or a student/PhD-researcher.

The following table gives an overview: 

Ordinary members – 90 EURO
Students and PhD-researchers – 50 EURO
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
+ Australia, Canada, Japan, New-Zealand, USA
Ordinary members – 60 EURO
Students and PhD-researchers – 30 EURO
Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Portugal,  Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey Ukraine

In case your country is not listed, please contact the ESRS secretary (